Ernie Hogg on dramatic debut at the 2013 ENZED Taupo 1000
Ernie Hogg on dramatic debut at the 2013 ENZED Taupo 1000

High speed offroad race action comes to Twizel over Easter as the 2014 national championship kicks off with a north-south clash.

Auckland racer Ernie Hogg is bringing his unlimited-class Scorpion Chev two-seater all the way south – a round trip of some 2,600 km – to race on the glacial moraine valley west of the township near the Ohau hydro power canal. The car, dubbed ‘the General’ and coloured like the Dodge car made famous by television series and movie The Dukes of Hazzard, runs a Chev LS2 V8 engine. It is tipped to be a front-runner in its class and a strong prospect to win the big endurance title outright.

In the unlimited class Hogg goes up against Christchurch racers Geoff Densem (Ryan FAT VW) and Vince Harvey (Ryan Mitsubishi Evo) and Nelson racers Neville Basalaj (Jimco Chev), Ashley Kelly (Cougar VW) and Blake McDonald (Nissan). Winton racer and unlimited truck class national champion Donald Preston has handed over the wheel of his mighty Toyota Hilux to son Paul, who lines up against Neville Taylor (Nelson), Owen Chang (Christchurch) and Gavin Storer (Christchurch) while local hopes for in-class glory will be pinned on Barry Phillips in his VW Challenger. Southland Nissan racer Roger McKay has switched out to one of the new UTV-class Polaris four wheel drives and will be making his championship U-class debut.

The racing takes place over Saturday and Sunday of Easter Weekend. On Saturday the 40-strong entry competes in class-by-class heats on a short course, while the next day they tackle a 250 km endurance race plotted over a longer course on the fast and open glacial plains of the farm alongside Ohau Canal Road. Racing starts at 11 am. Race organiser Barry Phillips says rain during the week will minimise dust nuisance for drivers and improve grip on both days. Strong class turnout grows by the day Most classes will feature grids of five or six cars for the short course racing. Class one – where Ernie Hogg goes up against the southern speedsters – is currently six-strong.

Class two for production trucks has four entries for Steven Boyd, Ron Crosby, Josh Lee and Ian Simcox. Class three has six entries – current class champion Wayne Moriarty will square off against Greg Winn (Nelson), Blair Prebble, James Fleming, Carl Gardner and Cam Stratford.

Class four will be fought out between Jackie Andrew and Simon Smith. Class five for 1.3-litre cars has attracted entries from Clint Densem, Graham Fleming and Andrew Johnston. There are currently no class six entries – Roger McKay having ‘defected’ to U-class and Neville Taylor to class 8 for unlimited trucks. Likewise, there are no entries in class seven for 1.2-litre cars.

Challenger VW class shows a strong turnout with Barry Phillips, his son Jake, Adam Reid, Tyler Martin, Rob Palmer and Sam Johnston. Class 10 for motorcycle-engined cars has attracted entries from Damian Halliday and Rosco Gaudin.

The new UTV class for Polaris and Can Am four wheel drive cars has entries for Mike Holmes, Bob Uttridge, Roger McKay and Grant Dixon. Brooke and Jorja Storer are the entries in the youth class for Kiwitrucks

Hawkes Bay Enduro Champs – ANZAC WEEKEND

Hawkes Bay Enduro Champs

Two * 1.5 hour races First round of the Central Series Saturday 26th April (Anzac weekend)

Offroad Racing how it should be

Back to Basics.

Anzac Weekend race Hawkes Bay

Most of you will know the AWESOME Venue we used for the 2012 ORANZ National Finals, now you have the opportunity to experience it all again. Two endures will be held on the same day, we also have permission to camp and party onsite afterwards. Pack up the family, pack up the car and Tent and come racing. Venue: Whakamarumaru Station 1960 Matapiro Road Crownthorpe HB Scruitineering : 8.00am Race Day format: – 26/4/14 Enduro one starts at 10.00am 26/4/14 Enduro Two starts at 2.30pm Prizes : These will be issued for 1st to 3rd over all. There will also be spot prizes for Best roll over , longest jump etc just like the old days! Entry Fee: $120.00 This covers the enduro’s, camping “ fun “ and a portion will go to the final series prize pool. Please use the standard entry form off the ORANZ web site, make cheques payable to Hawkes Bay Offroad Racing Club and send to HBORC C/O 87 Church Road Napier Remember! BYO BBQ food & drinks , prize giving and Free camping on site so come and have some “Fun “ ( BBQs on site) Fun race for Kids , wives/ team members if we have the time.( Oranz day license) needed Contacts; Lofty on 021632063 Steve on 0274304231